Liquid Penetrant Testing in ASTM

Liquid penetrant testing in ASTM refers to the ASTM E165 which is Standard Practice for Liquid Penetrant Examination for General Industry. Please note this standard does not provide you with acceptance criteria.

This provides guidance and information for conducting the liquid penetrant testing.  You may review step by step liquid penetrant testing article.

liquid penetrant testing in ASTM standard

Any liquid penetrant testing needs a test procedure. The ASTM E165 standard assists an ASNT level III liquid penetrant test specialist to prepare and write a test procedure. The procedure should be written to be fit with the material considered to be tested, expected defect, cost, and other factors.

Liquid Penetrant Testing in ASTM Standard and References

You can consider ASTM E165 similar to the ASME Code section V article 6. Both of them tell you how to perform the test and nothing about acceptance criteria. Some construction codes require the ASTM E165 to be used, and some others require the ASME Code article 6.

For example API STD 610 (Centrifugal Pump Design and Manufacturing Standard) and  API STD 617 (Centrifugal Compressor Design and Manufacturing) requires the ASME Section V to be utilized and API STD 611 (Steam Turbine Design and Manufacturing) and API STD 677 (Gear Box Design and Manufacturing) requires ASTM E165 to be utilized.

However, the acceptance criteria for all of these are identical, and all require to be done based on ASME Code Section VIII Div.1 Appendix 8 (for welding) and Appendix 7 (for casting).

Liquid Penetrant Testing Content on ASTM E165

It provides you with information to decide what type of liquid penetrant test to be selected depending on test object and expected defects and provides requirements for the performance, e.g., precleaning requirement, dwells time, temperature requirement, water washable spray pressure, light requirement and calibration requirements, etc.

A qualified ASNT Level III shall approve the test procedure and be conducted by qualified Level II or by Level I under the watch of Level II. The test result evaluation can be done either by Level II or Level III.


Free newsletter!

Sign up to receive my monthly newsletter covering all the latest courses and updates.


New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.